News, Honors and Awards 2012

Can Algorithms Save Parkland Hospital?

Forbes  Dec. 28, 2012 – Ruben Amarasingham, M.D., M.B.A., is using complex data analytics usually associated with prestigious institutions, such as Cleveland Clinic or Kaiser Permanente. Last year, the Journal of the American Medical Association published a review of models that predict which patients are at high risk for hospital readmission. It winnowed down 7,843 citations to 30 articles, and was unimpressed with most, but ranked Amarasingham’s approach for reducing hospital readmission of heart failure patients as one of the best. In October, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation selected him as one of ten winners of its Young Leader Awards for his “exceptional” contribution to improving health care. Read More

GIM Faculty Receive 2012 Teaching Awards

  • Colleen Sam, M.D., M.P.H.: Clinical teaching award for MS3 Internal Medicine clerkship
  • Mary McGarry, M.D.: Clinical teaching award for MS4 subinternship
  • Jim Wagner, M.D.: Distinguished Clinical Science Educator Award
  • Craig Rubin, M.D.: Innovation in Medical Education Award
  • Amit Shah, M.D.: Elected to the Southwestern Academy of Teachers (SWAT). He joins other GIM SWAT members: Rody Cox, Lynne Kirk, Jim Wagner, and Hari Raja.
  • Eric Steen, M.D.: Internal Medicine Housestaff Outstanding Teacher Award 2011-2012

GIM Outpatient Clinics Receive Bridges to Excellence Recognition in Diabetes

Twenty-one GIM faculty were recognized for excellence in the care of diabetes by this national program that acknowledges and rewards clinicians who deliver superior chronic disease care. Blue Cross Blue Shield of Texas is a licensed sponsor of the Bridges to Excellence Program.

GIM Outpatient Practice Named an 'Elite Center of Value Primary Care Physician' by ACAP Health

ACAP Health is a group that helps large employers in the Dallas-Fort Worth area steer their employees to high value providers.

2012 Patient Safety Medical Education Grant Award

Jason Fish, M.D., M.P.H., and Michael Burton, M.D., M.P.H., receive a 2012 Patient Safety Medical Education Grant Award, “A Comparison of IHI Open School to a Faculty-led Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Curriculum for Undergraduate Medical Education.” This two-year, $105,446 grant will conduct an educational comparative effectiveness randomized controlled trial of face-to-face vs. online QI/patient safety training for medical students.

$2 million grant from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation

Ruben Amarasingham, M.D., M.B.A., receives a $2 million grant from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation on, “Automating Identification of Patients at a High Risk for Readmission.” This two-year grant will transform the PIECES™ predictive modeling and e-coordination software into a robust generalizable and exportable software platform that has new artificial intelligence features and implement it in pilot site hospitals.