News, Honors and Awards 2010

GIM Faculty Receive 2010 Teaching Awards

Four GIM faculty received awards at the 5th Annual Excellence in Education Award Ceremony on October 25, 2010.

  • Distinguished Clinical Science Educator Award of the Year: Lynne Kirk, M.D.
  • Clinical Medicine and MS2 Clinical Medicine Teaching Award: Jim Wagner, M.D.
  • MS3 Core Clerkship Teaching Award: Rody Cox, M.D.
  • MS4 Core Clerkship Teaching Award: Kathryn Eubank, M.D.

GIM Hospitalist Imran Khawaja, M.D., honored with the 2010 “Golden Pager” Award

This award is given by the University Hospitals nursing staff to the “one physician who demonstrates empathy for patients, collaboration with nurses, and an overall dedication to the medical profession.” Also nominated were GIM hospitalists Drs. Emilia Thomas, Ali Zamanian, Bielose Konwe, Ketul Patel, and Amit Kothari.

Ruben Amarasingham, M.D., receives $980,000 grant

Dr. Amarasingham, Director of Parkland’s Center for Clinical Innovation and Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, received the grant from the W.W. Caruth, Jr. Foundation via the Communities Foundation of Texas to fund a one-year study of the potential impact and feasibility of an information-based network connecting medical providers and social service agencies for the benefit of the most at-risk members of Dallas County.

Gupta awarded prestigious HRSA Geriatric Academic Career Award

Roopali Gupta, M.D., is a geriatrician clinician educator. Her grant, “Teaching interprofessional learners an individualized approach for geriatric preventive medicine,” is a five-year award which proposes development and implementation of novel interprofessional curriculum addressing the complexities of providing preventive medicine to older adults.

Rhodes receives 2010 Merck/American Geriatrics Society New Investigator Award

Ramona Rhodes, M.D., M.P.H., is a geriatrician clinician researcher with a focus on racial disparities in hospice use and end-of-life care. The New Investigator Awards are awarded to individuals whose original research, as presented in a submitted abstract, reflects new and relevant research in geriatrics, and are designed to recognize individuals who are committed to a career in aging research.

Watson Clinical Excellence Prize goes to Gary Reed, M.D.

Gary Reed, M.D., was selected as the first recipient of the Patricia and William L. Watson Jr., M.D. Award for Excellence in Clinical Medicine. This award will be given annually to honor a member of the UT Southwestern faculty for excellence in contributions as a clinician and/or clinical innovator. The award is supported by an endowment gift from Dr. Bill Watson, a graduate of UT Southwestern, and his wife Patricia. They have requested that it be used "to recognize a physician who has a profound impact on patients and their families through hands-on clinical care."

Dallas Business Journal (DBJ) honors Halm and Amarsingham as Health Care Heroes

Ethan Halm, M.D., received the DBJ Newcomer Award. The DBJ article cited Dr. Halm's commitment to "delivering high-quality, evidenced-based, patient-centered care" as well as his focus on "robust clinical outcomes and health research programs."

Ruben Amarsingham, M.D., was awarded the DBJ Academic Researcher Award. The DBJ article cites his studies of social indicators as a way to predict and prevent future medical problems, and how hospitals with better IT systems (eg. electronic medical records) have better patient outcomes. Dr. Amarsingham's efforts are widely recognized and are being used in the development of public health policy and legislation.