Faculty of the Department of Family and Community Medicine are listed below, or visit our Faculty Directory to search all faculty at UT Southwestern.

Department Leadership

F. David Schneider, M.D., M.S.P.H., Professor and Chairman, Perry E. Gross, M.D. Distinguished Chair in Family Medicine, Department of Family and Community Medicine

Residency Faculty

Krista Anders, M.D., FACOG, FAAFP, Assistant Professor

Mahdi Awwad, M.D., Assistant Professor

Nitin Budhwar, M.D., FAAFP, Associate Professor and Chief of Service for Family Medicine, Parkland Health and Hospital Services

Rachel Chamberlain, M.D., Assistant Professor

Philip Day, Ph.D., Faculty Associate

Stephanie Donnelly, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Neelima Kale, Ph.D., M.D., M.B.A., FAAFP, Assistant Professor, Residency Clinical Director

Tamara McGregor, M.D., Associate Professor

Tasaduq Mir, M.D., FAAFP, Assistant Professor

Turya Nair, M.D., Assistant Professor

Katie Sardone, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Dan Sepdham, M.D., FAAFP, Associate Professor, Site Director for Southwestern Health Resources, Family Medicine Residency

Amer Shakil, M.D., M.B.A., FAAFP, Professor 

Zubair Syed, M.D., Assistant Professor, Program Director, and Chief of Service for Family Medicine, University Hospitals

Family Medicine Clerkship Faculty*

Zaiba Jetpuri, D.O., M.B.A., FAAFP, Assistant Professor, Clerkship Director

*All Family Medicine faculty participate in the training of medical students.

Community Health Section Faculty

Nora Gimpel, M.D., Associate Professor, Chief of Community Health

Patti Pagels, M.P.A.S., PA-C, Assistant Professor

Family Medicine – Primary Care Clinic

Joe Ventimiglia, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Nida Zahra, M.D., Assistant Professor

UT Southwestern Clinical Center at Richardson/Plano

Mohita Patel M.D., Faculty Associate

Amrutha Pavle, M.D., Faculty Associate

Other Faculty

Currently the Department of Family Medicine also has more than 150 faculty members at affiliated institutions, private practice locations, and various agencies and institutions who help to train UT Southwestern medical students and residents.