MSTP Post-Ph.D. Students

MS3 – Post Ph.D.

Salman Banani

University of California, Berkeley
Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Mentor: Michael Rosen, Ph.D.
Research Interest: Understanding the role of phase transitions in cellular organization
salman.banani@utsouthwestern.edu

Ryan Golden

Mercer University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Post-transcriptional regulation of MicroRNA abundance and function
Mentor: Josh Mendell, M.D., Ph.D.
ryan.golden@utsouthwestern.edu

Ming Lee

Mindy Lee

University of Pennsylvania
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Physiological role of exercise-induced autophagy
Mentor: Beth Levine, M.D.
ming.lee@utsouthwestern.edu

Ying Li

Ying Li

Columbia University
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Research Interest: Molecular mechanisms of synaptic vesicle recycling
Mentor: Ege Kavalali, Ph.D.
ying.li@utsouthwestern.edu

Zachary Moore

Zachary Moore

University of Texas, Austin
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Mentor: David Boothman, Ph.D.
Research Interest: Improving the efficacy and expanding the application of NQO1 bio-activated therapeutics for solid cancers
zachary.moore@utsouthwestern.edu

Thomas Morley

University of Connecticut
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Inflammation, obesity, and cancer
Mentor: Phil Scherer, Ph.D.
thomas.morley@utsouthwestern.edu

Benjamin Nelson

Benjamin Nelson

Mercer University
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Regulatory mechanisms of striated muscle development and contraction
Mentor: Eric Olson, Ph.D.
benjamin.nelson@utsouthwestern.edu

Victor Salinas

Harvard University
Cell Regulation Graduate Program
Research Interest: Evolution of allosteric and protein-protein interactions in signaling and metabolic pathways
Mentor: Rama Ranganathan, M.D., Ph.D.
victor.salinas@utsouthwestern.edu

Pano Theodoropoulos

Pano Theodoropoulos

University of Chicago
Mentor: Deepak Nijhawan, M.D., Ph.D.
pano.theodoropoulos@utsouthwestern.edu

Rachel Thomas

University of Arkansas at Fayetteville
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Research Interest: Elucidating CDK5-mediated regulatory mechanisms involved in neuronal signaling cascades
Mentor: James Bibb, Ph.D.
rachel.thomas@utsouthwestern.edu

MS4

Gina Aloisio

Ohio State University
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Mechanisms of stem cell maintenance and renewal
Mentor: Diego Castrillon, M.D., Ph.D.
gina.aloisio@utsouthwestern.edu

Gaurab Chakrabarti

Brown University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Studying the role of metabolism in the DNA damage/repair response in cancer cells
Mentor: David Boothman, Ph.D.
gaurab.chakrabarti@utsouthwestern.edu

Mariam El-Ashmawy

Arizona State University
Cancer Biology Program
Research Interest: The effects of radiation on the lungs
Mentors: Jerry Shay, Ph.D. and Woodring Wright, M.D., Ph.D.
mariam.elashmawy@utsouthwestern.edu" style="font-size: 12.0012px; line-height: 1.5;

Chris Hensley

Rice University
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Metabolism of cell proliferation
Mentor: Ralph Deberardinis, M.D., Ph.D.
chris.hensley@utsouthwestern.edu

Christopher Inra

Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Response of hematopoietic stem cells and their supportive microenvironment to injury
Mentor: Sean Morrison, Ph.D.
chris.inra@utsouthwestern.edu

Courtney Lane-Donovan

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Research Interest: Role of reelin and lipoprotein receptors in the molecular mechanisms of adult neuronal function, Alzheimer's disease, and brain injury
Mentor: Joachim Herz, M.D.
courtney.lane@utsouthwestern.edu

Xiaoxiao Li

Sarah Lawrence
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Mentor: Yihong Wan, Ph.D.
Research Interest: How transcription factors regulate osteoclast, osteoblast, and bone metabolism
xiaoxiao.li@utsouthwestern.edu

Albert Linden

University of California, Berkeley
Biological Chemistry Graduate Program (Chemistry Track)
Research Interest: Cholesterol uptake, metabolism, and transport through the lysosomes
Mentors: Michael Brown, M.D., and Joseph Goldstein, M.D.
albert.linden@utsouthwestern.edu

Arjun Raman

University of Chicago
Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Research Interest: Understanding the natural design and evolvability of biological systems
Mentor: Rama Ranganathan, M.D., Ph.D.
arjun.raman@utsouthwestern.edu

Nathaniel Schaffer

Washington University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Nuclear hormone receptors in parasitic and free-living nematodes
Mentor: David Mangelsdorf, Ph.D.
nathaniel.schaffer@utsouthwestern.edu

Caroline Sung

University of California, Los Angeles
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Transcriptional regulation of Ink4a-Arf
Mentor: Steven Skapek, M.D.
caroline.sung@utsouthwestern.edu

Bennett Waxse

Texas Christian University
NIH Scholars Program
Mentor: Jennifer Lippincott-Schwarz, Ph.D.
bennett.waxse@utsouthwestern.edu

Jonathan Xia

Washington University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Diabetes and obesity
Mentor: Phil Scherer, Ph.D.
jonathan.xia@utsouthwestern.edu

Elizabeth Zhang

Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Neutrophil polarity and adaptation
Mentors: Steven Altschuler, Ph.D., and Lani Wu, Ph.D.
elizabeth.zhang@utsouthwestern.edu