MSTP Post-Ph.D. Students

MS3

Gina Aloisio

Ohio State University
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Mechanisms of stem cell maintenance and renewal
Mentor: Diego Castrillon, M.D., Ph.D.
gina.aloisio@utsouthwestern.edu

Gaurab Chakrabarti

Brown University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Studying the role of metabolism in the DNA damage/repair response in cancer cells
Mentor: David Boothman, Ph.D.
gaurab.chakrabarti@utsouthwestern.edu

Mariam El Ashmawy

Arizona State University
Cancer Biology Program
Research Interest: The effects of radiation on the lungs
Mentors: Jerry Shay, Ph.D. and Woodring Wright, M.D., Ph.D.
mariam.elashmawy@utsouthwestern.edu

Christopher Hensley

Rice University
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Metabolism of cell proliferation
Mentor: Ralph Deberardinis, M.D., Ph.D.
chris.hensley@utsouthwestern.edu

Christopher Inra

Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Response of hematopoietic stem cells and their supportive microenvironment to injury
Mentor: Sean Morrison, Ph.D.
chris.inra@utsouthwestern.edu

Courtney Lane-Donovan

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Research Interest: Role of reelin and lipoprotein receptors in the molecular mechanisms of adult neuronal function, Alzheimer's disease, and brain injury
Mentor: Joachim Herz, M.D.
courtney.lane@utsouthwestern.edu

Xiaoxiao Li

Xiaoxiao Li

Sarah Lawrence
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Mentor: Yihong Wan, Ph.D.
xiaoxiao.li@utsouthwestern.edu

Albert Linden

University of California, Berkeley
Biological Chemistry Graduate Program (Chemistry Track)
Research Interest: Cholesterol uptake, metabolism and transport through the lysosomes
Mentors: Michael Brown, M.D., and Joseph Goldstein, M.D.
albert.linden@utsouthwestern.edu

Arjun Raman

University of Chicago
Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Research Interest: Understanding the natural design and evolvability of biological systems
Mentor: Rama Ranganathan, M.D., Ph.D.
arjun.raman@utsouthwestern.edu

Caroline Sung

University of California, Los Angeles
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Transcriptional regulation of Ink4a-Arf
Mentor: Steven Skapek, M.D.
caroline.sung@utsouthwestern.edu

Bennett Waxse

Texas Christian University
NIH Scholars Program
Mentor: Jennifer Lippincott-Schwarz, Ph.D.
bennett.waxse@utsouthwestern.edu

Jonathan Xia

Jonathan Xia

Washington University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Diabetes and obesity
Mentor: Phil Scherer, Ph.D.
jonathan.xia@utsouthwestern.edu

Elizabeth Zhang

Elizabeth Zhang

Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Neutrophil polarity and adaptation
Mentors: Steven Altschuler, Ph.D., and Lani Wu, Ph.D.
elizabeth.zhang@utsouthwestern.edu

MS4

Alexander Augustyn

University of Chicago
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Characterizing ASCL1-dependent neuroendocrine non-small cell lung cancers 
Mentor: John Minna, M.D.
alex.augustyn@utsouthwestern.edu

Xin Cai

Harvard University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Mechanism of innate immune and inflammatory signaling
Mentor: James Chen, M.D., Ph.D.
xin.cai@utsouthwestern.edu

Christopher Cano

University of Texas, Pan American
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Genetics of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis
Mentor: Christine Garcia, M.D., Ph.D.
christopher.cano@utsouthwestern.edu

Bethany Cartwright

Vanderbilt University
Cell Regulation Graduate Program
Research Interest: Biogenesis of the lipid droplet organelle and its role in obesity/lipodystrophy
Mentor: Joel Goodman, Ph.D.
bethany.cartwright@utsouthwestern.edu

Angela Collins

Austin College
Immunology Graduate Program
Mentor: Michael Shiloh, M.D., Ph.D.
angela.collins@utsouthwestern.edu

Ankit Garg

University of Texas, Austin
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Characterization of novel gene function in muscle biology
Mentor: Eric Olson, Ph.D.
ankit.garg@utsouthwestern.edu

Eric Kildebeck

University of Texas, Dallas
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Using zinc-finger nucleases to study the DNA damage repair process and to correct mutations causing severe combined immunodeficiency
Mentor: Matthew Porteus, M.D., Ph.D., Stanford University
eric.kildebeck@utsouthwestern.edu

Jaswinder Kumar

Georgia Institute of Technology
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Research Interest: Neuronal activity-dependent synaptic and behavioral plasticity in rodent models of stress and anxiety
Mentor: Christopher Cowan, Ph.D., McLean Hospital, Harvard
jaswinder.kumar@utsouthwestern.edu

Matthew McFarlane

Harvard University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Regulation of cholesterol uptake and metabolism 
Mentors: Michael Brown, M.D., and Joseph Goldstein, M.D.
matthew.mcfarlane@utsouthwestern.edu

William McKean

University of Utah
Biological Chemistry Graduate Program
Research Interest: Regulation of fatty acid metabolism in the liver
Mentor: Jay Horton, M.D.
william.mckean@utsouthwestern.edu

Suong Nguyen

University of Tulsa
Biological Chemistry Graduate Program
Research Interest: Characterizing novel drug targets for Human African Trypanosomiasis
Mentor: Meg Phillips, Ph.D.
suong.nguyen@utsouthwestern.edu

Jacob Orme

Brigham Young University
Immunology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Signaling pathway disturbances that contribute to SLE pathogenesis
Mentors: Chandra Mohan, M.D., Ph.D., and Anne Satterthwaite, Ph.D.
jacob.orme@utsouthwestern.edu

Nam Pham

Stanford University
Cell Regulation Graduate Program
Research Interest:
Mentor: Jennifer Kohler, Ph.D.
nam.pham@utsouthwestern.edu

Kartik Rajagopalan

University of Texas, Austin
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Identifying metabolic pathways that might contribute to cancer progression
Mentor: Ralph Deberardinis, M.D., Ph.D.
kartik.rajagopalan@utsouthwestern.edu

Nathaniel Schaffer

Washington University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Nuclear hormone receptors in parasitic and free-living nematodes
Mentor: David Mangelsdorf, Ph.D.
nathaniel.schaffer@utsouthwestern.edu

YuanYuan Zhang

Cornell University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Mentors: Michael Brown, M.D., and Joseph Goldstein, M.D.
yuanyuan.zhang@utsouthwestern.edu