MSTP Post-Ph.D. Students

MSII – Post-Ph.D.

Joshua Johnson

Joshua Johnson

University of Michigan
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Ceramides in central body weight regulation
Mentor: William Holland, Ph.D. 
joshua.johnson@utsouthwestern.edu

MS3 – Post-Ph.D.

Olusoji "Yemi" Afuwape

University of Illinois, Chicago
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Elucidating specific functions of dynamin isoforms in synaptic vesicle endocytosis
Mentor: Ege Kavalali, Ph.D.
olusoji.afuwape@utsouthwestern.edu

Elise Burger

Elise Burger

Occidental College
Immunology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Mucosal immunology, host-pathogen interactions
Mentor: Felix Yarovinsky
Elise.Burger@UTSouthwestern.edu

Philip Cheng

Philip Cheng

University of North Carolina
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Investigating the potential role the cytosolic DNA sensor cGAS plays in SLE
Mentor: Zhijian Chen, Ph.D.
Philip.Cheng@UTSouthwestern.edu

Miles Fontenot

Miles Fontenot

University of Texas, Austin
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: The transcriptional networks underlying cognitive function
Mentor: Genevieve Konopka, Ph.D.
miles.fontenot@utsouthwestern.edu

Emile Pinarbasi

Emile Pinarbasi 

University of California, Berkeley
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: RNA-binding proteins and neurodegeneration
Mentor: Philip Thomas, Ph.D.
emile.pinarbasi@utsouthwestern.edu 

Kevin Shi

Kevin Shi 

Duke University
Biological Chemistry Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Structural studies of proteins containing low complexity domains
Mentor: Steven McKnight, Ph.D.
Kevin.Shi@UTSouthwestern.edu

Pano Theodoropoulos

Pano Theodoropoulos

University of Chicago
Biological Chemistry Graduate Program
Mentor: Deepak Nijhawan, M.D., Ph.D.
pano.theodoropoulos@utsouthwestern.edu

Rachel Thomas

University of Arkansas at Fayetteville
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Elucidating CDK5-mediated regulatory mechanisms involved in neuronal signaling cascades
Mentor: James Bibb, Ph.D.
rachel.thomas@utsouthwestern.edu 

Nicole Varnado

University of Texas, Austin
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Understanding regulation of the cGAS-cGAMP-STING pathway for cytosolic DNA sensing
Mentor: Zhijian Chen, Ph.D.
Nicole.Varnado@UTSouthwestern.edu

Jenny Weon

Jenny Weon 

University of Texas, Austin
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Identifying the physiological function of MAGE proteins and their potential role in the development of lung cancer.
Mentor: Ryan Potts, Ph.D.
Jenny.Weon@UTSouthwestern.edu 

Laura Yuan

Laura Yuan

University of Texas, Dallas
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Elucidating biological functions and mechanisms of telomerase alternative splicing in lung cancer
Mentor: Jerry Shay, Ph.D. and Woodring Wright, M.D., Ph.D.
laura.yuan@utsouthwestern.edu  

MS4

Salman Banani

University of California, Berkeley
Molecular Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Understanding the role of phase transitions in cellular organization
Mentor: Michael Rosen, Ph.D.  
Salman.Banani@utsouthwestern.edu 

Ryan Golden 

Mercer University 
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Post-transcriptional regulation of MicroRNA abundance and function
Mentor: Josh Mendell, M.D., Ph.D.
ryan.golden@utsouthwestern.edu 

Ming Lee

Mindy Lee

University of Pennsylvania
Integrative Biology Graduate Program 
Dissertation Topic: Psychological role of exercise-induced autophagy
Mentors: Beth Levine, M.D.
ming.lee@utsouthwestern.edu

Ying Li

Ying Li

Columbia University
Neuroscience Graduate Program 
Dissertation Topic: Molecular mechanisms of synaptic vesicle recycling
Mentor: Ege Kavalali, Ph.D.
ying.li@utsouthwestern.edu

Zachary Moore

Zachary Moore

University of Texas, Austin
Cancer Biology Graduate Program 
Dissertation Topic: Improving the efficacy and expanding the application of NQO1 bioactivated therapeutics for solid cancers
Mentor: David Boothman, Ph.D.
zachary.moore@utsouthwestern.edu

Thomas Morley

University of Connecticut 
Genetics and Development Graduate Program 
Dissertation Topic: Inflammation, obesity, and cancer 
Mentor: Phil Scherer, Ph.D.
thomas.morley@utsouthwestern.edu

Benjamin Nelson

Benjamin Nelson

Mercer University 
Genetics and Development Graduate Program 
Dissertation Topic: Regulatory mechanisms of striated muscle development and contraction 
Mentor: Eric Olson, Ph.D.
benjamin.nelson@utsouthwestern.edu

Victor Salinas 

Harvard University 
Cell Regulation Graduate Program 
Dissertation Topic: Evolution of allosteric and protein-protein in signaling and metabolic pathways
Mentors: Rama Ranganathan, M.D., Ph.D.
albert.linden@utsouthwestern.edu