MSTP Post-Ph.D. Students

MS3

Alexander Augustyn

University of Chicago
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Characterizing ASCL1-dependent neuroendocrine non-small cell lung cancers
Mentor: John Minna, M.D.
alex.augustyn@utsouthwestern.edu

Xin Cai

Harvard University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Mechanism of innate immune and inflammatory signaling
Mentor: James Chen, M.D., Ph.D.
xin.cai@utsouthwestern.edu

Christopher Cano

University of Texas, Pan American
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Genetics of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis
Mentor: Christine Garcia, M.D., Ph.D.
christopher.cano@utsouthwestern.edu

Bethany Cartwright

Vanderbilt University
Cell Regulation Graduate Program
Research Interest: Biogenesis of the lipid droplet organelle and its role in obesity/lipodystrophy
Mentor: Joel Goodman, Ph.D.
bethany.cartwright@utsouthwestern.edu

Ankit Garg

University of Texas, Austin
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Research Interest: Characterization of novel gene function in muscle biology
Mentor: Eric Olson, Ph.D.
ankit.garg@utsouthwestern.edu

Eric Kildebeck

University of Texas, Dallas
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Using zinc-finger nucleases to study the DNA damage repair process and to correct mutations causing severe combined immunodeficiency
Mentor: Matthew Porteus, M.D., Ph.D., Stanford University
eric.kildebeck@utsouthwestern.edu

Jaswinder Kumar

Georgia Institute of Technology
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Research Interest: Neuronal activity-dependent synaptic and behavioral plasticity in rodent models of stress and anxiety
Mentor: Christopher Cowan, Ph.D., McLean Hospital, Harvard
jaswinder.kumar@utsouthwestern.edu

Matthew McFarlane

Harvard University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Regulation of cholesterol uptake and metabolism
Mentors: Michael Brown, M.D., and Joseph Goldstein, M.D.
matthew.mcfarlane@utsouthwestern.edu

William McKean

University of Utah
Biological Chemistry Graduate Program
Research Interest: Regulation of fatty acid metabolism in the liver
Mentor: Jay Horton, M.D.
william.mckean@utsouthwestern.edu

Suong Nguyen

University of Tulsa
Biological Chemistry Graduate Program
Research Interest: Characterizing novel drug targets for Human African Trypanosomiasis
Mentor: Meg Phillips, Ph.D.
suong.nguyen@utsouthwestern.edu

Jacob Orme

Brigham Young University
Immunology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Signaling pathway disturbances that contribute to SLE pathogenesis
Mentors: Chandra Mohan, M.D., Ph.D., and Anne Satterthwaite, Ph.D.
jacob.orme@utsouthwestern.edu

Nam Pham

Stanford University
Cell Regulation Graduate Program
Research Interest:
Mentor: Jennifer Kohler, Ph.D.
nam.pham@utsouthwestern.edu

Kartik Rajagopalan

University of Texas, Austin
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Identifying metabolic pathways that might contribute to cancer progression
Mentor: Ralph Deberardinis, M.D., Ph.D.
kartik.rajagopalan@utsouthwestern.edu

Nathaniel Schaffer

Washington University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Research Interest: Nuclear hormone receptors in parasitic and free-living nematodes
Mentor: David Mangelsdorf, Ph.D.
nathaniel.schaffer@utsouthwestern.edu

YuanYuan Zhang

Cornell University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Mentors: Michael Brown, M.D., and Joseph Goldstein, M.D.
yuanyuan.zhang@utsouthwestern.edu

MS 4

Jamaal Benjamin

Morehouse College
Molecular Microbiology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Epithelial cell autophagy in antibacterial defense of the small intestine
Mentor: Lora Hooper, Ph.D.
jamaal.benjamin@utsouthwestern.edu

Vincent Chau

Cornell University
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Novel small molecule induces apoptosis in malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumor of neurofibromatosis Type 1
Mentors: Luis Parada, Ph.D., and Lu Le, M.D., Ph.D.
vincent.chau@utsouthwestern.edu

Angela Desmond

University of Pennsylvania
Immunology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: New approaches to peptoid vaccine development                
Mentor: Ellen Vitetta, Ph.D.
angela.desmond@utsouthwestern.edu

Christopher Javadi

University of Texas, Austin
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Mentor: Joel Elmquist, D.V.M, Ph.D.
chris.javadi@utsouthwestern.edu

Ryan Jones

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Molecular mechanisms linking cholesterol absorption and hepatic steatosis
Mentor: Joyce Repa, Ph.D. 
ryan.jones@utsouthwestern.edu

Ivan Lee

University of Texas, Arlington
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Cellular basis of behavioral circadian rhythms in mammals – the role of neuromedin S (NMS)-ergic neurons in the suprachiasmatic nuclei
Mentors: Joseph Takahashi, Ph.D., and Masashi Yanagisawa, M.D., Ph.D.
ivan.lee@utsouthwestern.edu

Julia Mattson

University of Washington
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Memory and aging: Effects of age on the neural correlates of item and source memory encoding
Mentor: Michael Rugg, Ph.D., UT Dallas
julia.mattson@utsouthwestern.edu    

Joshua Owen

Texas A&M University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Insulin stimulation of SREBP-1c processing in liver: Lessons from transgenic rats
Mentors: Michael Brown, M.D., and Joseph Goldstein, M.D.
joshua.owen@utsouthwestern.edu

David Pyle

Texas A&M University
Immunology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Regulation of human monocyte function by cross-linking of immunoglobulin E
Mentor: Michelle Gill, M.D., Ph.D.
david.pyle@utsouthwestern.edu

Jeremy Semeiks

State University of New York, Albany
Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: On two problems in comparative genomics of eukaryotes
Mentor: Nick Grishin, Ph.D.
jeremy.semeiks@utsouthwestern.edu

Benjamin Shields

Rice University
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Mapping the landscape of acquired vulnerabilities in ovarian cancer
Mentor: Mike White, Ph.D.
benjamin.shields@utsouthwestern.edu

Varun Sondhi

Colgate University
Cell Regulation Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: The search for the endogenous RORg ligand and investigating the role of cytochrome B5 in steroidogenesis and regulation of the CYP17A1 lyase reaction
Mentors: David Mangelsdorf, Ph.D. and Steven Kliewer, Ph.D.
varun.sondhi@utsouthwestern.edu

Andrew Tyler

Harvard University
Immunology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: CD8+ T cells are required for the therapeutic action of glatiramer acetate in autoimmune demyelinating disease
Mentor: Nitin Karandikar, M.D., Ph.D., University of Iowa
andrew.tyler@utsouthwestern.edu

Amy Zhou

University of British Columbia
Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Analysis of synaptotagmin-SNARE complex interactions by one-cimensional NMR spectroscopy
Mentor: Jose Rizo-Rey, Ph.D.
amy.zhou@utsouthwestern.edu