MSTP Post-Ph.D. Students

MS2 (Post-Ph.D.)

Alexander Augustyn

University of Chicago
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Characterizing ASCL1-Dependent Neuroendocrine Non-Small Cell Lung Cancers
Mentor: John Minna, M.D.
alex.augustyn@utsouthwestern.edu
 

Mark Kittisopikul

University of Chicago
Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: The Biological Role of Stochasticity from Molecules to Communities
Mentor: Gurol Suel, Ph.D., UC San Diego
mark.kittisopikul@utsouthwestern.edu

MS3

Jamaal Benjamin

Morehouse College
Molecular Microbiology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Epithelial Cell Autophagy in Antibacterial Defense of the Small Intestine
Mentor: Lora Hooper, Ph.D.
jamaal.benjamin@utsouthwestern.edu

Vincent Chau

Cornell University
Genetics & Development Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Novel Small Molecule Induces Apoptosis in Malignant Peripheral Nerve Sheath Tumor of Neurofibromatosis Type 1
Mentors: Luis Parada, Ph.D., and Lu Le, M.D., Ph.D.
vincent.chau@utsouthwestern.edu

Angela Desmond

University of Pennsylvania
Immunology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: New Approaches to Peptoid Vaccine Development                
Mentor: Ellen Vitetta, Ph.D.
angela.desmond@utsouthwestern.edu

Christopher Javadi

University of Texas, Austin
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic:
Mentor: Joel Elmquist, D.V.M, Ph.D.
chris.javadi@utsouthwestern.edu

Ryan Jones

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Molecular Mechanisms Linking Cholesterol Absorption & Hepatic Steatosis
Mentor: Joyce Repa, Ph.D. 
ryan.jones@utsouthwestern.edu

Ivan Lee

University of Texas, Arlington
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Cellular Basis of Behavioral Circadian Rhythms in Mammals - the Role of Neuromedin S (NMS)-ergic Neurons in the Suprachiasmatic Nuclei
Mentor: Joseph Takahashi, Ph.D., and Masashi Yanagisawa, M.D., Ph.D.
ivan.lee@utsouthwestern.edu

Julia Mattson

University of Washington
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Memory and Aging: Effects of Age on the Neural Correlates of Item and Source Memory Encoding
Mentors: Michael Rugg, Ph.D., UT Dallas
julia.mattson@utsouthwestern.edu    

Joshua Owen

Texas A&M University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Insulin Stimulation of SREBP-1c Processing in Liver:  Lessons from Transgenic Rats
Mentors: Michael Brown, M.D., and Joseph Goldstein, M.D.
joshua.owen@utsouthwestern.edu

David Pyle

Texas A&M University
Immunology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Regulation of Human Monocyte Function by Cross-Linking of Immunoglobulin E
Mentor: Michelle Gill, M.D.
david.pyle@utsouthwestern.edu

Jeremy Semeiks

State University of New York, Albany
Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: On Two Problems in Comparative Genomics of Eukaryotes
Mentor: Nick Grishin, Ph.D.
jeremy.semeiks@utsouthwestern.edu

Benjamin Shields

Rice University
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Mapping the Landscape of Acquired Vulnerabilities in Ovarian Cancer
Mentor: Mike White, Ph.D.
benjamin.shields@utsouthwestern.edu

Varun Sondhi

Colgate University
Cell Regulation Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: The Search for the Endogenous RORg Ligand & Investigating the Role of Cytochrome B5 in Steroidogenesis & Regulation of the CYP17A1 Lyase Reaction
Mentor: David Mangelsdorf, Ph.D. and Steven Kliewer, Ph.D.
varun.sondhi@utsouthwestern.edu

Andrew Tyler

Harvard University
Immunology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: CD8+ T Cells are Required for the Therapeutic Action of Glatiramer Acetate in Autoimmune Demyelinating Disease
Mentor: Nitin Karandikar, M.D., Ph.D., University of Iowa
andrew.tyler@utsouthwestern.edu

Amy Zhou

University of British Columbia
Molecular Biophysics Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Analysis of Synaptotagmin-SNARE Complex Interactions by One-Dimensional NMR Spectroscopy
Mentor: Jose Rizo-Rey, Ph.D.
amy.zhou@utsouthwestern.edu

MS4

Stan Atkin

Oregon State University
Cell Regulation Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Liver Receptor Homolog-1 Regulates Kisspeptin Expression in the Arcuate Nucleus to Promote Reproductive Axis Function
Mentor: David Mangelsdorf, Ph.D. and Steven Kliewer, Ph.D.
stan.atkin@utsouthwestern.edu

Jenny Alexander-Barker

Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cancer Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Site-Specific Genome Engineering in Mouse Primary Fibroblasts
Mentor: Matthew Porteus, Ph.D., Stanford Medical School
jenny.alexander@utsouthwestern.edu

Koriand’r Conyers-Williams

University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: The antagonistic roles of miR-200 and miR-199a family members in the regulation of uterine contractility during pregnancy and labor
Mentor: Carole Mendelson, Ph.D.
koriandr.conyers@utsouthwestern.edu

Edward Haws

Brigham Young University
Neuroscience Graduate Program
Research Interest: The Role of Presynaptic RIM1a-dependent mossy fiber LTP in Learning and Memory
Mentor: Craig Powell, M.D., Ph.D.
michael.haws@utsouthwestern.edu

Imran Mohiuddin

University of Florida
Immunology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Preferential Regulatory T-cell Generation From Memory CD4 T-Cells is Deficient During Acute Exacerbation of Multiple Sclerosis
Mentor: Nitin Karandikar, M.D., Ph.D., University of Iowa
imran.mohiuddin@utsouthwestern.edu

Daniel Quiat

University of Texas, Austin
Genetics and Development Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Transcriptional Regulation of Muscle Contractility and Metabolism by a MicroRNA-Mediated Feed Forward Loop
Mentor: Eric Olson, Ph.D.
daniel.quiat@utsouthwestern.edu

Oktay Rifki

North Carolina State University
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: RalGDS-Dependent Cardiomyocyte Autophagy is Necessary for Load-Induced Ventricular Hypertrophy
Mentor: Joseph Hill, M.D., Ph.D.
oktay.rifki@utsouthwestern.edu

Swalpa Udit

University of Texas at Arlington
Integrative Biology Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Nav1.8+ Homeostatic Afferent Neurons: Critical Roles in Diet-Induced Inflammation
Mentor: Joel Elmquist, D.V.M, Ph.D.
swalpa.udit@utsouthwestern.edu

Richard Voit

University of Texas, Dallas
Cell Regulation Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Generation of HIV-Resistant T-cells & Correction of the Sickle Cell Mutation by Targeted Genome Engineering
Mentor: Dr. Matthew Porteus, Stanford University
richard.voit@utsouthwestern.edu

Dongbo Yu

Harvard University
Cell Regulation Graduate Program
Dissertation Topic: Chemically Modified Single-Stranded RNAs Engage RNAi & Allele-Selectively Inhibit Huntington and Other CAG-Expansion Disease Genes
Mentor: David Corey, Ph.D.
dongbo.yu@utsouthwestern.edu