Carolyn P. Horchow
Women's Health Symposium

Tuesday, March 28, 2017


8:30 a.m.–12:05 p.m.
Includes continental breakfast

Formal program begins promptly at 9 a.m.

12:05–1 p.m.
Lunch with faculty


T. Boone Pickens Biomedical Building
6001 Forest Park Road
Dallas, TX 75390


Registration is $75 per person, which includes lunch with faculty. Payment may be made by check or credit card.

Please call 214-648-2344 to register by phone.


Patty Huffines
Sydney Huffines


Carlos Bagley, M.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Neurological Surgery
My Aching Back: Solving the Back Pain Puzzle

Deborah Friedman, M.D., M.P.H.
Department of Neurology & Neurotherapeutics
Migraine: Arresting the Time Thief

Salahuddin Kazi, M.D.
Internal Medicine Vice Chair of Education
Professor of Internal Medicine
Arthritis: Understanding What Your Joints Are Saying

Steven Kliewer, Ph.D.
Department of Molecular Biology
Crushing the Cravings: Drawing Science Into the Battle Against Addictive Behaviors

Stephanie Savory, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Dermatology
Skin Care Confidential: Truths and Myths Revealed

Physician Advisor

Carol Podolsky, M.D.

Faculty Advisor

Carol L. Croft, M.D.


8:30–9 a.m. Continental Breakfast
9–9:05 a.m. Co-Chairs’ Welcome – Margot Perot and Carolyn Rathjen
9:05–9:10 a.m. Dean's Report – Greg Fitz, M.D.
9:10–9:35 a.m. One Woman’s Successful Journey – Helen H. Hobbs ,M.D.
9:35–9:40 a.m. Faculty Advisor’s Remarks – Carol L. Croft, M.D.
9:40–10:05 a.m. A Cancer in the Family: Taking control of your genetic inheritance – Theodora Ross M.D., Ph.D.
10:05–10:30 a.m. Distress Signals: Recognizing depression, anxiety, and grief – Madhukar Trivedi, M.D.
10:30–10:55 a.m. Destination ER: When to hit the road and what to expect – Deborah Diercks, M.D.
10:55–11:10 a.m. Break
11:10–12 p.m. Catching some ZZZs; Stopping the Sneeze; Speaking with Ease: Novel approaches to ENT disorders – Teresa Chan-Leveno, M.D., Lesley Childs, M.D., Bradley Marple, M.D.
12–12:05 p.m. Co-Chairs’ Closing Remarks
12:05–1 p.m. Lunch with faculty

2016 Photo Gallery and Videos

Welcome from Event Co-Chairs

Carolyn Rathjen and Margo Perot

One Woman's Successful Journey

Helen Hobbs, M.D.
Professor, Internal Medicine and Molecular Genetics
Director, McDermott Center for Human Growth and Development

A Cancer In the Family: Taking Control of Your Genetic Inheritance

Theodora Ross, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Internal Medicine
Director of the Division of Hematology/Oncology, High Risk Cancer Genetics Program

Distress Signals: Recognizing Depression, Anxiety, and Grief

Madhukar Trivedi, M.D.
Professor, Psychiatry
Chief of the Division of Mood Disorders
Director, Center of Depression Research and Clinical Care

Destination ER: When to Hit the Road and What to Expect

Deborah Diercks, M.D., M.Sc., FACEP
Professor and Chair, Emergency Medicine

Catching Some ZZZs; Stopping the Sneeze; Speaking with Ease: Novel Approaches to ENT Disorders

Teresa Chan-Leveno, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Otolaryngology
President of the Medical Staff, Chair of the Medical Executive Committee and Chief of Otolaryngology at Parkland

Lesley Childs, M.D.
Assistant Professor, Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery

Bradley Marple, M.D.
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education

Carolyn P. Horchow

Carolyn P. Horchow was a native of Little Rock, Ark., and a longtime Dallas resident who gave generously to charities throughout her life.

A graduate of Connecticut College, she went on to become a co-founder of The Horchow Collection. She founded this annual symposium in 1999 at UT Southwestern with her friend Patricia M. Patterson.

Carolyn served on the Board of Visitors of UT Southwestern University Hospitals & Clinics and on the Honorary Board of the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth. She was a volunteer for Meals on Wheels and a member of several charitable organizations, including the Charter 100 of Dallas, Crystal Charity Ball, Dallas Women’s Foundation, Planned Parenthood of North Texas, Sweetheart Ball, and Visiting Nurse Association of Texas.

Carolyn will always be remembered for her dignity, thoughtfulness, impeccable taste, and exceptional sense of style.