Diversity at UT Southwestern


Jeffries Receives DiversityFIRST Award

The Texas Diversity Council recently honored Diane Jeffries, M.Ed., Director of Faculty Diversity and Development (FDD) at UT Southwestern Medical Center, as a recipient of the 2012 DiversityFIRST Award. Read more.

Cryer Honored for Diversity Leadership

Byron Cryer, M.D., Associate Dean for Faculty Diversity and Development, was honored recently at the sixth annual North Texas Best Practices and Diversity First awards luncheon in Dallas. Dr. Cryer garnered the award from the Houston-based Texas Diversity Council for his efforts to increase enrollment of minority students at UT Southwestern.  

His efforts over the past 12 years have led to national recognition, including a ranking by Hispanic Business magazine as the nation’s top medical school for Hispanic students.

UT Southwestern Medical School has an enrollment of more than 900 students, including nearly 125 Hispanics. In 2007 the school conferred 226 degrees, about 20 percent of them to Hispanics.

“This award serves as an acknowledgement of the progress which UT Southwestern has made in diversity over the last decade,” Dr. Cryer said. “It was a privilege to have represented our institution in the receipt of this recognition.”

The Texas Diversity Council is committed to fostering a learning environment for organizations to grow in their knowledge of diversity.